Players can once again delete their empires; there is no longer any need to request this from Staff. This can be done by going to your empire preferences page here:
The section to delete your empire will not show up during the first and last week of the round.
Additionally, if you delete your empire you will not be able to rejoin the round and will have to wait until the next round to play in the galaxy you deleted from.
Deleting requires an extra confirmation step, so “I accidentally deleted my empire” will not grant anybody an exception to this rule. Please think carefully before using this feature.